Training fields

Governor Larry Hogan Reappoints CSM Associate Vice President Ellen Flowers-Fields to TEDCO Board

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan has reappointed Ellen Flowers-Fields Associate Vice President of Continuing Education and Workforce Development for the College of Southern Maryland (CSM) to the Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) of the state, which serves as Maryland’s economic engine for technology companies. Flowers-Fields was first appointed to TEDCO in May 2021. Her reappointment in July 2022 is for a four-year term.

TEDCO is an independent agency created by the Maryland General Assembly in 1998 to facilitate the creation of businesses and support their growth in all regions of the state. TEDCO’s role is to be Maryland’s primary source of funding for technology start-ups, provide other business assistance to entrepreneurs across the state, and foster the transfer and commercialization of technology from universities and federal state laboratories.

“Having great confidence in your dedication to public service, I am pleased to reappoint you,” the governor wrote to Flowers-Fields. “Thank you for making this strong personal and professional commitment to serve the best interests of our citizens. I know we will be successful in our goal of making a positive difference for all Marylanders, especially with your help and support.

As Associate Vice President of Continuing Education and Workforce Development for CSM, Flowers-Fields is responsible for overseeing all areas of non-credit economic and community development programs, including the Center Trades and Energy Training, Maryland Center for Environmental Training, Workforce Center, SBDC, Nonprofit Institute, Transportation Center, and Adult Basic Education . She has over 25 years of progressive professional experience in the field of workforce development and human capital management. Flowers-Fields recently published a blog as part of CSM’s Cabinet Conversations series titled: Retention and development of existing workforce,’ and received the Maurice Erly Professional Development Award last month.

A 19-member Board of Directors manages TEDCO, 14 of whom are appointed by the Governor, two by the Speaker of the Maryland Senate, and two by the Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates – each for staggered four-year terms. The senate confirms each member appointed by the governor.

Learn more about TEDCO and how it serves Maryland residents and businesses at

Source link